1	н. в. 4509	
2		
3	(By Delegate Skinner)	
4	[Introduced February 13, 2014; referred to the	
5	Committee on the Judiciary then Finance.]	
6		į
7		i.
8		
9		
10	A BILL to amend and reenact $\$51-2-1$ of the Code of West Virginia,	
11	1931, as amended, relating to authorizing an additional	
12	circuit court judge for the twenty-third judicial circuit	
13	consisting of Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan counties.	
14	Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:	
15	That §51-2-1 of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended,	
16	be amended and reenacted to read as follows:	
17	ARTICLE 2. CIRCUIT COURTS; CIRCUIT JUDGES.	
18	§51-2-1. Judicial circuits; terms of office; legislative findings	,
19	and declarations; elections; terms of court.	
20	(a) The state shall be divided into the following judicial	
21	circuits with the following number of judges:	
22	(1) The counties of Brooke, Hancock and Ohio shall constitute	<u> </u>
23	the first circuit and shall have four judges;	

- 1 (2) The counties of Marshall, Tyler and Wetzel shall
- 2 constitute the second circuit and shall have two judges;
- 3 (3) The counties of Doddridge, Pleasants and Ritchie shall
- 4 constitute the third circuit and shall have one judge;
- 5 (4) The counties of Wood and Wirt shall constitute the fourth
- 6 circuit and shall have three judges;
- 7 (5) The counties of Calhoun, Jackson, Mason and Roane shall
- 8 constitute the fifth circuit and shall have two judges;
- 9 (6) The county of Cabell shall constitute the sixth circuit
- 10 and shall have four judges;
- 11 (7) The county of Logan shall constitute the seventh circuit
- 12 and shall have two judges;
- 13 (8) The county of McDowell shall constitute the eighth circuit
- 14 and shall have two judges;
- 15 (9) The county of Mercer shall constitute the ninth circuit
- 16 and shall have three judges;
- 17 (10) The county of Raleigh shall constitute the tenth circuit
- 18 and shall have three judges;
- 19 (11) The counties of Greenbrier and Pocahontas shall
- 20 constitute the eleventh circuit and shall have two judges;
- 21 (12) The county of Fayette shall constitute the twelfth
- 22 circuit and shall have two judges;
- 23 (13) The county of Kanawha shall constitute the thirteenth
- 24 circuit and shall have seven judges;

- 1 (14) The counties of Braxton, Clay, Gilmer and Webster shall
- 2 constitute the fourteenth circuit and shall have two judges;
- 3 (15) The county of Harrison shall constitute the fifteenth
- 4 circuit and shall have three judges;
- 5 (16) The county of Marion shall constitute the sixteenth
- 6 circuit and shall have two judges;
- 7 (17) The county of Monongalia shall constitute the seventeenth
- 8 circuit and shall have two judges: Provided, That effective July
- 9 1, 2009, said circuit court shall have three judges.
- 10 (18) The county of Preston shall constitute the eighteenth
- 11 circuit and shall have one judge;
- 12 (19) The counties of Barbour and Taylor shall constitute the
- 13 nineteenth circuit and shall have one judge;
- 14 (20) The county of Randolph shall constitute the twentieth
- 15 circuit and shall have one judge;
- 16 (21) The counties of Grant, Mineral and Tucker shall
- 17 constitute the twenty-first circuit and shall have two judges;
- 18 (22) The counties of Hampshire, Hardy and Pendleton shall
- 19 constitute the twenty-second circuit and shall have two judges;
- 20 (23) The counties of Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan shall
- 21 constitute the twenty-third circuit and shall have five six judges;
- 22 (24) The county of Wayne shall constitute the twenty-fourth
- 23 circuit and shall have two judges;
- 24 (25) The counties of Lincoln and Boone shall constitute the

- 1 twenty-fifth circuit and shall have two judges;
- 2 (26) The counties of Lewis and Upshur shall constitute the
- 3 twenty-sixth circuit and shall have one judge;
- 4 (27) The county of Wyoming shall constitute the twenty-seventh
- 5 circuit and shall have one judge;
- 6 (28) The county of Nicholas shall constitute the twenty-eighth
- 7 circuit and shall have one judge;
- 8 (29) The county of Putnam shall constitute the twenty-ninth
- 9 circuit and shall have two judges;
- 10 (30) The county of Mingo shall constitute the thirtieth
- 11 circuit and shall have one judge; and
- 12 (31) The counties of Monroe and Summers shall constitute the
- 13 thirty-first circuit and shall have one judge.
- 14 (b) The Kanawha County circuit court shall be a court of
- 15 concurrent jurisdiction with each single judge circuit where the
- 16 sitting judge in the single judge circuit is unavailable by reason
- 17 of sickness, vacation or other reason.
- 18 (c) Any judge in office on the effective date of the
- 19 reenactment of this section shall continue as a judge of the
- 20 circuit as constituted under prior enactments of this section,
- 21 unless sooner removed or retired as provided by law, until December
- 22 31, 2008.
- 23 (d) The term of office of all circuit court judges shall be
- 24 for eight years. The term of office for all circuit court judges

- 1 elected during the general election conducted in the year 2008
- 2 shall commence on January 1, 2009, and end on December 31, 2016.
- 3 (e) For election purposes, in every judicial circuit having
- 4 two or more judges there shall be numbered divisions corresponding
- 5 to the number of circuit judges in each circuit. Each judge shall
- 6 be elected at large from the entire circuit. In each numbered
- 7 division of a judicial circuit, the candidates for nomination or
- 8 election shall be voted upon and the votes cast for the candidates
- 9 in each division shall be tallied separately from the votes cast
- 10 for candidates in other numbered divisions within the circuit. The
- 11 candidate receiving the highest number of the votes cast within a
- 12 numbered division shall be nominated or elected, as the case may
- 13 be.
- 14 (f) Judges serving a judicial circuit comprised of four or
- 15 more counties with two or more judges shall may not be residents of
- 16 the same county.
- 17 (g) The Supreme Court of Appeals shall, by rule, establish the
- 18 terms of court of circuit judges.

NOTE: The purpose of this bill is to authorize an additional circuit court judge for the twenty-third Judicial Circuit consisting of Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan counties.

Strike-throughs indicate language that would be stricken from the present law, and underscoring indicates new language that would be added.